Marian Corner

Marian Corner, or Marian Camp, is at the start of the Lower Hollyford Road at the head of the Hollyford Valley. A large parking area is beside the picturesque Hollyford River / Whakatipu Kā Tuka. An explanatory board describes the road-work camp that was established there in the 1930s to support the construction of the Milford Sound Highway and Lower Hollyford Road and a plaque that memorialises the heroic actions of Davey Gunn in 1936.

Davey Gunn was born into a farming family in Waimate, Canterbury. In 1926, he acquired private land from the original settlers, the McKenzie family. In 1929, he added four leases with 25,000 acres and set himself up at Deadman's Hut by the Hollyford River. He developed and maintained many of the tracks in the region. In 1936, he became famous when he saw a small plane crash in Big Bay on the West Coast. He aided the injured passengers and covered the 90 km journey to Marian Camp in just 21 hours. Shortly after this, he started providing tours through the Hollyford for tourists, which he attached to his mustering activities. This subsequently became guided tours on the Hollyford Track to Martins Bay. On his death, his son Murray continued guided tours and converted a work camp into Gunns Camp.

Marian Camp and nearby Mount Marian, Lake Marian, Lake Marian Track and Marian Creek were named after Marian Little. She was Ernest Wilmot's cousin, a Fiordland surveyor during the 1880s. Presumably, she was a favourite niece!

10 images

We're on Instagram

Follow Trip Ideas for more great content like this