Okiato is a small town in the Bay of Islands, New Zealand, 7 kilometres (4.3 mi) south of Russell. The northern access point for the car ferry links Opua to Russell.

It is completely non-descript, except that it was briefly the location of the first capital of NZ after the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840. In 1841, The capital of NZ was moved to Auckland in 1842 and later to Wellington. Today, all that's left is a grassy reserve in the middle of a small suburb, with the original well, a description of its contents from an archaeological review and a panel describing the long-gone government buildings. At least the view from the reserve over Veronica Channel is pleasant, and there is a short walk to the coast.

Captain James Clendon acquired land in Okiato in 1832 from local Māori. Clendon was subsequently the first United States Consul for New Zealand in 1838/1839. In 1840, the new governor, William Hobson, reviewed possible locations for a capital around the Bay of Islands. Clendon's property met the requirements for a good harbour with land suitable for sale to settlers. Hobson purchased the land for 15,000 pounds and changed its name from Okiato to Russell for the Secretary of State for the Colonies, Lord Russell. Hobson and his family moved there in May 1840, along with builders and administrators. A Government House was built but burned down after the move to Auckland in 1841.

The established town of Kororāreka also became known as Russell around the time, and in 1844, new Governor Robert FitzRoy made it part of the township of Russell. Okiato is the name today of the first capital, and Russell applies only to what was Kororāreka.

9 images

We're on Instagram

Follow Trip Ideas for more great content like this